Ferrari dismiss 2010 F1 inclusion

Ferrari's participation in the 2010 Formula One season remains in the balance.
Ferrari have restated their intentions to boycott the 2010 Formula One Championship because of a disagreement about the future of the sport, despite being included by the sport’s world governing body on a list of official participants for the next season.

The Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) announced on their Web site that successful applications had been received and accepted by 13 teams, including the Italian racers, for next season’s competition. Five of the entrants – Brawn GP, McLaren Mercedes, BMW Sauber, Renault F1 and Toyota Racing – submitted conditional applications but Ferrari, despite their recent opposition to plans by the FIA to bring in a controversial budget cap, were not among the group. Despite being listed as an unconditional applicant, the Maranello-based outfit stated on their Web site their entry was “subject to certain conditions” that had so far not been met. The statement continued: “Despite Ferrari’s previous written notice to the FIA not to do so, the FIA has included Ferrari as a unconditional participant in next year’s Formula One World Championship. “For the avoidance of any doubt, Ferrari reaffirms that it shall not take part in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship under the regulations adopted by the FIA in violation of Ferrari’s rights under a written agreement with the FIA.”

Don’t Miss
Button continues dominance in Turkey

Peace breaks out in F1 dispute

Williams reveal 2010 entry

Team US confirm 2010 entry

F1 furor explained

The publication of the entry list follows a meeting between the president of the FIA, Max Moseley, and eight of the teams on June 11 to try and agree the entrants for the coming campaign. From this gathering it was agreed to grant the five teams with unconditional entry offers a deadline extension of June 19 to reconcile their differences with the FIA’s plans to impose a budget cap of $60M for competing teams. Current Championship leaders Brawn GP, one of the five who submitted a conditional offer, stated on their Web site the FIA had accepted their entry but had “invited them to lift those conditions following further discussions.” The statement added: “It is inconceivable that an agreement won’t be reached during the year, so Brawn GP look certain to make the grid in 2010.” The current wrangles stem from controversial plans by the FIA to impose budget caps and technical limitations on teams in 2010 in a bid to make the grid more balanced and easier for the smaller teams to compete. Entrants for the 2010 Formula One season: Ferrari Red Bull Racing Williams Toyota* Force India McLaren * Brawn GP* Renault* BMW Sauber* Toro Rosso Campos GP Manor F1 Team US F1 * Teams who have submitted conditional offers. The final three teams listed are new entrants.