Deccan Chargers defeat Bangalore in IPL final

Deccan Chargers are the Indian Premier League champions after Pragyan Ojha led a spirited bowling display to help seal a six-run victory over the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Johannesburg. Adam Gilchrist’s side, who finished last at the inaugural tournament in 2008, posted a below par 144-victory target, but scraped home thanks to the slow left armer’s three wickets as well as good performances from Andrew Symonds (two for 18) and Harmeet Singh (two for 28)